It doesn’t matter where you are in the world or what your nationality is; the importance of marriage is the same. Getting married is a once-in-a-lifetime event. It is something that every person – regardless of gender – looks forward to. Marriage is something that’s for keeps; something to be treasured. This is why many young bride and grooms give importance to their marital records, so much so that they want to get a copy of it even early into their union. Well, this is not difficult to do so now, thanks to the United States’ Freedom of Information Act. Every US state is mandated to come up with their own laws and rules regarding public access of vital dossiers. In the Beaver State, getting hold of vital dossiers like Oregon Marriage Records usually starts with a visit to the Vital Records office.
The Vital Records office has Oregon marriage dossiers that go back to the year 1911. If you want to obtain a copy, you need to pay a $20 fee for each one you get. This can change, though, so you should regularly call the said office to check this out. If you want to get an additional copy, you’ll have to request for it on the same day you file your request for an original copy, but you’ll have to pay a $15 fee for every copy.
If the record you want or need cannot be found at the Vital Records office, the office of the clerk of the county where the marriage took place is your next option. In some counties, records earlier than 1906 can be found. You’ll have to inquire about the fees, though, as they normally vary from one county to another. For marriage records that took place in the 1800s, the Oregon State Archives is the place to go to.
In situations where the marriage does not last, the state of Oregon has a number of instructions to follow for obtaining divorce records. Although the steps are basically the same as that of when accessing marriage records, there are some things you need to consider. The Vital Records office keeps the divorce records of the state and you can file your request with them, but you should take note that you’ll only be given certificates of the marriage records. Additionally, you’ll have to pay a fee; $20 for the first copy and $15 for the additional.
Divorce records that date back to 1925 are the ones found in the Vital Records office. The earlier ones are normally kept at the Circuit Court Clerk’s office in the county where the divorce happened. You may need to wait for some days, though, if you file your request through the said office – and even through the Vital Records office – as they are normally swamped with requests every day. There’s no reason to worry, though, as independent online record providers can give you a faster and more efficient option.
With online record providers, looking for and getting marriage and divorce records in Oregon has become easier and more practical. With their online databases, finding the record that you need is easier because you can do your search anywhere, no matter what time of day. You won’t need to wait for weeks! Additionally, you’ll only pay a small fee once, and you’ll be given unlimited access to whatever record you may need to get. Now, that is certainly one incredible offer!